West Bend West’s Meghan Conley Edges Cooney’s Mandy Prom and Beaver Dam’s Cady Roedl for WLT Player of the Year

Oconomowoc’s Carly Hall earns second-team nod

In what has to be a surprise to many Wisconsin Little Ten conference girls basketball observers, West Bend’s Meghan Conley is the Wisconsin Little Ten Player of the Year for 2011-2012.

Conley received the nod from the conference’s coaches despite superb seasons from Oconomowoc’s Mandy Prom (the conference’s top scorer for most of the season and the 2010-2011 player of the year), and Beaver Dam’s Cady Roedl, the 2009-2010 player of the year and the the leader of a Beaver Dam team that won two conference titles during Roedl’s career. Prom, Roedl and Conley are all seniors. Conley’s West Bend West team finished fifth in the WLT this year. Oconomowoc was third and Beaver Dam first.

During Conely’s career, West compiled at 9-32 record in the WLT, while Rodel’s teams were 40-2 with two titles. Prom’s Oconomowoc teams were 30-12 with first-, second- and third-place finishes.

Beaver Dam did earn four spots on the 15-player all-conference team, the highest total for any one team. Oconomowoc had two, with senior guard Carly Hall earning a second-team nod. Conley was the only player from West named to the 15-player list.

The first team consisted of all seniors, while the second team had three seniors and two juniors. No sophomores were named to to either the first, second, or honorable mention teams.

Conspicuous by her absence this year was WISCO’s Karynda DuPree, a first-team selection last year. A senior this year, she was not on the 15-player 2011-2012 list despite being WISCO’s top scorer(12.8 ppg). Prom and Roedl were first-team selections last year; Conley was a second-team choice. Cooney’s Abby Thelen and Watertown’s Desi Smith, both honorable mention choices last year, were left off the 2011-2012 list. Both Smith and Thelen missed much of 2012 with injuries. Watertown’s Carlee Schuhmacher, a second-team choice last year, was a first-team choice this year.

View companion sports commentary on the selections.


Meghan Conley (12) West Bend West


Cady Roedl (12) Beaver Dam

Mandy Prom (12) Oconomowoc

Andrea Held (12) Slinger

Carlee Schuhmacher (12) Watertown

Meghan Conley (12) West Bend West


Meagan Mazur (12) Beaver Dam

Maria Stephans (12) Hartford

Kayla Krassman (11) Hartford

Carly Hall (12) Oconomowoc

Kelsey Frey (11) Wisconsin Lutheran


Erika Chitko (12) Beaver Dam

Morgan Johnson (12) Beaver Dam

Sara Spuhler (11) Hartford

Emily Held (12) Slinger

Kaila Ten Haken (12) Wisconsin Lutheran

468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *